Tags

, , , , ,

Previously, I started with these goals, updated once about a month ago.

Writing based goals:

1. Edit to at least the halfway mark of my current WIP.
2. Scrounge about 45 minutes a day to work on a class I just signed up for. (Lasts from the end of October to the end of the year.)
3. Maintain the weekly blog check-ins for Row80.
4. Write two writing blog posts on this blog every month.
5. Comment weekly on others’ blogs.
6. Keep a personal journal. I started this a month or two ago, but have fallen out of practice. I’d like to journal about every other day, just a quick one-page in my Moleskin in order to dump about my day.

Non-Writing based goals:

1. Finish unpacking this house!
2. Organize the house.
3. Come up with some winter activity to do with an infant in order to maintain my sanity. (To be revisited when the temperatures drop below zero and I can no longer safely take my son outside)
4. Read daily to my infant son.
5. Read daily for my own pleasure.
6. I would like to bake my way through The Bread Baker’s Apprentice book by Peter Reinhart. I want to perfect my bread baking technique, and think a loaf of bread a week would be a doable goal (both for my waistline and my time commitment). There are about forty or fifty recipes in this book, so I won’t finish it for awhile unless I double up some months.
7. Be more diligent about studying my Bible. I want need to do this daily, and have been slacking. Perhaps putting it as a goal will make me more committed.
8. Meal plan weekly.
9. Exercise at least twice a week (by this I mean running or weights, or something more than walking).

All right, so those were my revised goals a few weeks ago, and, looking at them, I’ve been doing pretty well.

But, it’s time to update them again. So, here we go.

Writing based goals:

1. Edit to at least the halfway mark of my current WIP by averaging 1K a day in rewriting.
2. Scrounge about 45 minutes a day to work on a class I just signed up for. (Lasts from the end of October to the end of the year.)
3. Maintain the weekly blog check-ins for Row80.
4. Write two writing blog posts on this blog every month.
5. Comment weekly on others’ blogs.
6. I need to reoutline my WIP and double check my plotting for the major plot and subplots.

Non-Writing based goals:

1. Read daily to my infant son.
2. Read daily for my own pleasure.
3. I would like to bake my way through The Bread Baker’s Apprentice book by Peter Reinhart. I want to perfect my bread baking technique, and think a loaf of bread a week would be a doable goal (both for my waistline and my time commitment). There are about forty or fifty recipes in this book, so I won’t finish it for awhile unless I double up some months.
4. Be more diligent about studying my Bible. I want need to do this daily, and have been slacking. Perhaps putting it as a goal will make me more committed.
5. Meal plan weekly.
6. Run three times a week. (To maintain my half-marathon training regime.)

The non-writing goals are going pretty well, with the exception the meal planning and daily Bible study. I need to be better about both of those, it just slips my mind (no excuse!).

My writing goals are going well too, as I’m about a quarter of a way through my current WIP, about 28K into this revision. I probably need to step it up a bit to get to the halfway point by the end of this RoW80 session, thus upping the goal to 1K a day. If I can accomplish that average per day, I can easily get to 50K by the end of this year. I do need to step back for a moment though and reoutline my plot/subplots of that WIP.

Running though, has been a great motivator for me. Although a bit of a stress to make the time, as it requires a nap time for me to go (my son falls asleep in the stroller whether I want him to or not). It’s wonderful to get outside and breathe the fresh air (and it’s not subzero temperatures yet–yay!). So I’m definitely committed to that goal, as I need to exercise and get outside.

 

 

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…