Tags

, , ,

Whew. It’s been quite the week. Our Thanksgiving, although fun and simple, was also busy as we hosted my parents and uncle at our house. My husband spent most of Wednesday prepping food ahead, but Thursday he still spent cooking like mad, and I spent the majority of both days parenting. So I didn’t even realize I forgot to post last week’s Wednesday update and when Sunday rolled around…I still didn’t remember! Amazing how a busy week will push some things right out of your mind…

In fact, this week has kept me so busy, I forgot about my online course until late last night. Good thing we were given last week off, and good thing my first assignment is due tonight.

My goals haven’t been suffering too much, though.

My new writing goal of 1K a day on my WIP is going pretty well (did I ever state that as a goal?). Most days I’ve been able to hit that count, and although it stretches me on some days, it’s an attainable goal.

Running has been going great, probably the goal I’ve been most consistent with since I only run 3 times a week. On Saturdays I run without my son, just with the dog, so I’m not pushing a twenty pound kid and stroller over snow and up hills, and I do my long runs that day. This past Saturday was a 1:25 hour run, where I ran just over 8 miles. It was great–my longest run since before having my son, and probably since I got pregnant. I did intervals, but train with heart rate monitor, and I aimed to keep my heart rate in zone 2 by running 5 minutes in z2 and then walking 2 minutes in z2. (I actually misread my training directions and should have run 30 minutes in z2, then walked 5 minutes in z2. Oh well.) It’s great fun to explore my neighborhood by foot this way, and I’m learning the area by mapping out my run ahead of time online and then running it.

My bread baking goal has taken a bit of a hiatus thanks to Thanksgiving. Today I may make some bread not out of The Bread Baker’s Apprentice because I have some leftover pumpkin I need to use before it spoils (if it hasn’t already). We also have so much food that it seems a bit silly to make more bread.

Bible reading has gone pretty well too lately–I’ve been reading James 3 every day, since that is the chapter we are currently going through at church. Every day I read it, something new stands out to me. Great chapter.

So, I think it’s time to update my goals.

Writing goals:
1. Write 1K a day (or average 7K a week) on my WIP.
2. Maintain the blog with at least 2 writing posts a month and weekly Row80 check-ins.
3. Comment on others’ blogs weekly.

Non-writing goals:
1. Continue running, following the half-marathon training regime I’ve found.
2. Continue baking my way through The Bread Baker’s Apprentice.
3. Read my Bible daily.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…