Tags

,

It’s here. The end of 2014.

It’s one of those things that happens every December 31st, but it always seems to hit so fast that I never quite expect it.

This always leads me to the question: How much time have I wasted and how much have I spent wisely? Time is one of those priceless commodities that we can never, ever get back.

There are 3,600 seconds in an hour, 86,400 seconds in a day, and 31,536,000 seconds in a year. That is a lot of seconds. But assuming you spend 10,512,000 seconds sleeping (that’s eight hours a night), you’re left with 21,024,000 seconds to play with.

Now, most people have a day job, you must eat, shower, etc. But when it comes down to it, there’s an awful lot of “free” time that everyone has to dispose of.

As I go into 2015, I know there will be a million things vying for my seconds. My son, my husband, my desire to “relax,” dinner preparations, lunch, exercise, sleep, laundry, cleaning, etc. All of those things need my attention (even relaxing). But writing also has to factor in there somewhere. In fact, I must be as deliberate about writing as about the laundry or sleep.

But I don’t want writing to be a “chore.” Sure, I’d love it to be a paying job, don’t get me wrong. Yet, I want to be one of those people who enjoys their job. I think I can manage that.

For writing is always satisfying on some level. When I know that I have pumped out 500 words that day, I can feel satisfaction in that visible accomplishment. I can look back on it the next day and say, “That’s 500 words I wouldn’t otherwise have today.”

2015 is a year that I want to say I have grown as a writer. Growth takes place in several ways, but mostly by focusing on that area that will be growing.

New Year’s Resolutions are awfully popular, and most people give up on them halfway through January. So I don’t really want to make a resolution. Instead, I want a life change.

I want to