Tags

, , , ,

The past few months have been busy. Time seems to slip by without my seeming to be aware of it. Every day it seems as though I have not accomplished much, even though I have been quite diligent about what I have been doing.

Camp-Participant-2015-Web-Banner

I failed to keep up with my RoW80 posts last round, as life just got in the way. But I figured it was more important to actually accomplish my writing goals rather than blog about not having the time to accomplish them. Have you ever felt that way? Like blogging is a great thing to do, but sometimes not worth the effort?

Why do I blog anyway? Is it to hear myself think? To decompress from more stressful writing? To help out fellow writers? To find community that can often be so lacking in the writer’s world? To share my writing with the outside world?

Probably a bit of all of the above. It’s no surprise that writing can be a lonely business, one where it is sometimes easier to find and maintain Internet friends than real life friends. Blogging opens the world to finding people of like mind and interests, and you can maintain those friendships in your own convenience.

Which leads me to my thoughts provoking this blog. We are almost halfway through the first Camp NaNoWriMo of the year. It’s a great opportunity to catch up on your word count, start new novels (and/or finish them), to lament how hard it is to be a writer, and to acknowledge that you are not alone in this writing endeavor (no matter how much it may feel like it). But Camp NaNo is also a fantastic place to meet new writing friends.

I love November’s writing event, but Camp NaNos are even better for getting to know a small group of writers and interacting with them in a small group. Whereas the full NaNoWriMo in November allows you to post in forums an open question to anyone and to send mail to whomever you like, Camp NaNo puts a group of up to 12 writers together in a virtual cabin.

For an introvert like me, who prefers small groups to the entire Web, cabins are awesome. Sometimes you don’t get a very talkative one, but if you manage to strike it up with at least one other writer, you can find someone to encourage you throughout the year. I’ve met several other writers this way, and their perseverance to write despite life getting in the way inspires me to write as well.

I’ve purposely set my goal low this month, aiming to write a mere 500 words a day. Between parenting, house chores, and other life events, sometimes it feels as though that’s a monumental task. But I’ve been surprised by how quickly 500 words can emerge. So I type on, pushing myself to see how far I can go.

And with that, I’d best get back to my NaNo novel. I just reached my halfway point, and it’s time to see where the rest of this story takes me!