Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Since my son’s birth, I have struggled to get my son on an eating, napping, and sleeping schedule. Overall, he’s done pretty well. But there are those days where everything just goes south–fast.

I can usually tell if it’s going to be one of “those days” by what time he wakes up in the morning. He’s naturally an early riser, but I try to keep him in bed until 6 a.m.–and it’s a victory if he sleeps until then or goes back to sleep after waking in the morning.

Today, he gave a 4 a.m. wakeup call.

On days like this, I try to keep him awake until scheduled nap time–or close to it–and then resume our “regularly scheduled” day.

But sometimes, the schedule just has to be put aside. And I am realizing that this practice holds true with writing as well as toddler life.

I can schedule my life as much as I want, but there will always be interruptions. Whether it’s my child, my husband, a family emergency, an illness (my own or others’), events that pop up, unexpected grocery trips, etc., I cannot control every aspect of my life or others’.

The important thing is not to become a control freak and get upset if everything doesn’t follow my plan, but to be adaptable with my plans.

I am currently researching self-publishing for several reasons. The main reason is not to rule out traditional publishing, but because self-publishing allows for more freedom. As a mother of a young child who is yet to be in school, my time is not my own. Yet I feel the call to write so strongly that I cannot ignore it. Instead of allowing the inconveniences of life to get in my way, I carve out minutes while my son sleeps in the car, nap times, even meal times as he is safely distracted and I can pen a few words.

Life doesn’t stop, and so we must write amid the distractions and derailments.