Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Long Live Methuselah

A stained glass depicting Methuselah from Canterbury Cathedral. Picture from Wikipedia.

A stained glass depicting Methuselah from Canterbury Cathedral.
Picture from Wikipedia.

In biblical times, people lived well beyond a century of life, sometimes to near a millennium. Methuselah comes to mind, right? The character in the Bible who holds the record for long life, lived to an approximate 969 years of age.

That’s a long time. I don’t know if I would want to live that long…wouldn’t it get old (pun intended) after awhile? And yet there are a million stories out there about supernatural creatures that never die. They live forever and ever (vampires, etc.).

And yet, it always seems that when an elderly person reaches the end of their life and feels the breath of Death on their neck, they are ready to go, ready for the “next great adventure.”

One of the many things I have always loved about reading is the ability to “life a thousand lives” through the eyes of a book. When I’m cooped up inside with a good book, I may not be inside at all. I may be traversing the wildest jungle of Africa, or the hottest desert of the mid-East.

As authors, we go a step further–we get to enjoy any type of life we want. We escape into the girl next door, the man in the gutters, the teen across the world, the outer limits of space. Whatever we can dream, we can write. And when we can’t dream it ourselves, we read about it in others’ works.

Writers are blessed to escape reality in a near-tangible way. I don’t know about you, but when I read articles like this, my writerly mind goes into overdrive, wondering what kind of story I could craft where this is reality. Very…dystopian, no?

via BBC – Future – The secrets of living to 200 years old.