Tags

, , , , , , ,

Awhile ago I claimed that while I loved Scrivener, I had abandoned it for Storyist.

Well, I’m here to admit that’s a lie.

I couldn’t help myself, you see? It’s just so…useful. And with more time at my actual computer lately, I just had to rewrite my novel in Scrivener. I couldn’t bear to try to write it through in Storyist and not have certain tools at my fingertips.

Daily Targets

When you’re writing for a deadline (like NaNoWriMo), having something break down exactly how many words you have to write. And if you’re word obsessed like I am, tracking your daily word count is made just plain awesome through Scrivener’s target.

Links to Character Bios & Places

Are you like me and you forget how you described someone? Have a hard time keeping all your character’s characteristics straight?

When I’m in the thick of writing a scene, I have a difficult time stopping to  figure out if my character in question is blond or brunette, if he has thick or thin eyebrows, blue or brown eyes.

Linking a passage of text to a character bio allows the opportunity to keep track of when you introduce physical descriptions of characters, or quirks, or anything specific to a character.

Likewise for places. If you’ve created a fictional place, or if you’ve chosen to fictionalize a real place, or even just researched a real place, creating a file for the place gives you a chance to keep all that information nearby. If you’re the kind of writer who creates on the fly, then you can create a link to the passage you first introduce the place and when you introduce new material.

Corkboard

Do you like to outline? Yes or no, corkboard may change your mind. This view is a super simple form of outlining your novel in Scrivener.

Just create your scenes and label them. You can add a synopsis of what happens in the scene if you wish, or just leave the title to be the description. Either way, it creates a bird’s-eye view of looking at your novel.

You can drag them around to reorder and see how things line up, which also reorganizes all your scenes, should you have done more than label them.

Scenes & Chapters

Each added file is a scene, which can then be put into folders or “chapters.” Creating chapters allows you to organize your scenes and keep track of them in a more general fashion.

This type of greater organization also gives you the opportunity to minimize the chapter files into the folder, thus giving you a less cluttered view.

Export & Compile

If you are interested in self-publishing, this ability to export or compile your scenes into an epub file or a mobi file, etc., gives you great leeway and flexibility. All the formatting is done for you.

For more information about Scrivener

check out these tutorials through Literature & Latte or YouTube.